Activities · Happiness · Mental Health · Positive Affirmations · Self-Esteem · Stress Management · Tips

I Am Me: Positive Affirmations and Happiness Tips

Today’s blog post is a little different from what I had originally planned. This is because the last week or so for me has been filled with many days of illness and symptom flare-ups, and therefore today I wanted to do a post that was simple yet positive.

In addition next week is my first face to face appointment at the hospital since the pandemic and I need this week to be as relaxing as possible. These things combined have inspired my topic for this week: Positive Affirmations.

Positive Affirmations are statements that have meaning. People use them for a number of different reasons including to motivate, to encourage, to inspire, to be happy, to heal and to change the way they think and feel. Positive affirmations are also believed to rewire the brain as they work to challenge any negative thought processes we may be harbouring.

Traditionally affirmations are said repeatedly aloud or inside your head. They are often short, used in the present tense, include the word ‘I’ and are of course of a positive nature! Examples include:

  • I am happy
  • I am confident
  • I am strong

Needless to say you don’t need to stick with tradition, you can say them to yourself whilst looking in the mirror, you could write them down, you can use them in longer sentences – in any way that makes them meaningful to you. The only suggestion I would make is you keep them positive and that you make them in the present tense because after all it is about feeling good in the moment – not in a months time. Examples could include:

  • Today is going to be a great day
  • I stand up for what I believe in
  • I can become anything I put my mind to
Photo by Binti Malu on Pexels.com

In line with the fact I have hospital next week I thought I would share some of my own positive affirmations to prepare me for what is to come.

  • I am calm
  • I am worthy of good health
  • I am important and therefore will be listened to
  • I love my body

In addition to affirmations I am going to spend the week finding little pockets of happiness to pick me up from the week I have just had, and to keep my mind productive knowing what’s to come. It sounds strange, but sometimes I think how do you make yourself happy? What constitutes as happiness? Here are some ideas:

  • Write a gratitude list – For more on gratitude lists read my previous blog post here
  • Better sleep
  • Get outside – Even if this is just sitting at your door or window.
  • Smile
  • Laugh – It’s difficult to just roll around laughing, but even watching some funny videos or programmes can help to realise some feel good hormones.
  • Treat yourself
  • Practise kindness – Do something nice for someone else if you struggle being nice to yourself.
  • Embrace the small things
  • Exercise – Highly debatable with certain chronic illnesses!
  • Keep learning
  • Do something you love – This doesn’t have to be major, something as small as having a cup of tea or a bath is more than enough.

Here we have it my list of happiness inducing ideas and positive affirmations. If you have any affirmations you would like to share I would love to hear them.

Sarah xx